YOU'RE LIVING FOR NOTHING NOW (BOOK 1, 2, 3) by André Príncipe

ポルトガル人アーティスト、アンドレ・プリンシペ(André Príncipe)の3冊組の作品集。2009年から2013年の間に撮影された写真が織り成す本書は、日常を過ごしながら感じたことを淡々と綴った私小説のような一作。カナダのシンガーソングライター、詩人、小説家であるLeonard Cohenの一節をタイトルに引用したこの作品は、作家の過去の作品と比較しても最も大胆に作られており、それぞれ1冊でも成立するものの3冊組として捉えることでよりその魅力が増す仕上がりとなっている。過去に作家が出版した別の3部作で用いたクラシック音楽の楽譜のような表紙のデザインを踏襲。今回は結婚での苦労を中心に、故郷ポルトガルのリスボン、中国、トルコ、日本、パリ、ロンドンなどで滞在した記録がおさめられている。ミニマルな漫画のコマ割りのように1ページに対して写真を小さく何箇所にも配置をすることもあれば、見開きで写真を断ち落としたページもあり、多様性のあるレイアウトで構成。さらに物語的かつ映像的な空気感を強調しながらも、例えばポーズ、アンダンテ、アダージォ、クレッシェンドといった音楽的な要素やリズム感が大部分を占めており、まるでそれは「ヴィジュアル・シンフォニー」とも呼べるようなシークエンスを作り出している。スーフィズム(イスラム神秘主義)や仏教の考え方から影響を受けた背景のもとに、本書はこの数年間における様々な人の仕草の抜粋集であり、現代の曼荼羅でもあり、写真家のエド・ファン・デル・エルスケンや小説家のヘンリ・ミラー、映像作家のジョナス・メカスの教えに見られるような、刹那的なエレジー(哀歌)なのである。

You´re Living for Nothing Now (I hope you´re keeping some kind of record) is André Príncipe´s take on the I-novel, a personal account about how it felt to be alive between 2009 and 2013. With its Leonard Cohen line´s title, Príncipe´s most ambitious work to date is organised in three books designed to be autonomous but that read best when together. The classical music score format of his earlier books is revisited and this time the images center on his struggle with marriage, living in Lisboa, spending time in China, Turkey, Japan, Paris, London and other places.The new layout alternates spreads assembled in minimalist comic book style with full bleed spreads, emphasising the narrative, cinematic nature of the images and ultimately creates a strong musical feeling, with pauses, andantes, adagios and crescendos, reading like a visual symphony.Influenced by sufi and buddhist ideas, You´re living for nothing now Book 1, 2 and 3 is a compendium of gestures, a modern mandala, an elegy of the ephemeral in the tradition of Ed van der Elsken, Henry Miller, and Jonas Mekas.

by André Príncipe


3 books in a set
80 pages each
213 x 300 mm 
color, black and white