I SEEM TO LIVE - The New York Diaries. vol. 2, 1969-2011 by Jonas Mekas

リトアニアに生まれのちにアメリカへ亡命した映像作家、詩人、活動家のジョナス・メカス(Jonas Mekas)の作品集。『The New York Diaries』は代表的な文学作品かつ自伝であり、作者の映画作品と等しく重要な位置付けにある最高傑作とされている。本作は、作者がこの世を去ってから1年後に刊行された「I SEEM TO LIVE - The New York Diaries. vol.1, 1950-1969」に続く第2巻であり、完結編となる。映像作品の年代順リスト、バイオグラフィーに加え、錚々たる巨匠らが名を連ねる人名索引が収録されている。前作に続き、ニューヨークのアンダーグラウンド・アートシーンで過ごした濃密な時間が丹念に描写されている。作者が一時期暮らしていたチェルシーホテルがクリエイティビティの震源地だった1970年代から物語は始まる。

1970年にジェローム・ヒル(Jerome Hill)、P・アダムス・シットニー(P. Adams Sitney)、ピーター・クーベルカ(Peter Kubelka)、スタン・ブラッケージ(Stan Brakhage)らとともに設立した「アンソロジー・フィルム・アーカイヴズ(the Anthology Film Archives)」は、その後作者が購入した32丁目2番街の裁判所の建物で今も活動を続けている。

Seem to Live: The New York Diaries, 1950–2011 is Jonas Mekas’s key literary work. The first volume (1950–1969) of this magnum opus appeared posthumously in 2019. It ranks alongside his cinematic oeuvre, which he elaborated together with his brother Adolfas after their arrival in New York in 1949. In the 1950s, Mekas began to shoot his first films, in the process developing an essayistic format that he would use as a diary to record his day-to-day observations. His writing, films, and unflagging commitment to art made him a pioneer of American avant-garde cinema and the barometer of the New York art scene. I Seem to Live: The New York Diaries, 1969–2011, vol. 2, the second and concluding volume of his diaries, contains an extensive index of names as well as a filmography and biography.

Jonas Mekas (1922–2019) was born in Lithuania and arrived in New York in 1949 via post-war DP camps in Germany. Co-founder of the Anthology Film Archives, Mekas was a filmmaker, writer, and poet, as well as a tireless advocate for experimental art and a New York City legend.

by Jonas Mekas

REGULAR PRICE ¥6,380  (tax incl.)

1,560 pages
160 x 215 mm    
color, black and white

published by SPECTOR BOOKS