WHEN I WAS A BOY by Katrien De Blauwer

ベルギー人コラージュアーティスト、カトリアン・デ・ブラウワー(Katrien De Blauwer)の作品集。


本作はベルギーとスウェーデンを拠点とする出版社「LIBRARYMAN」の季刊写真集プロジェクト「Seasons Series」の二作目(Summer)として刊行。あるカテゴリーにあてはまるアーティストたちが、一つの同じ条件のもと一冊の本の形で表現するという一貫した企画だが、それぞれの作家が持つ視点によって個々の違いが表出する。かつ、季節ごとに登場する作家のセレクションとコンテンツが各々の作品そのものを際立たせながらも、全作品集を通してサイズやページ数、デザインは統一される。四季を用いる手法は、韓国の映画監督キム・ギドク(Kim Ki-duk)の映像作品「春夏秋冬そして春(英題: Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter… and Spring)」(2013)から着想を得ており、四季を生涯に見立て様々な俳優陣が一人の主人公の一生を演じているこの作品は、湖中の庵に暮らす一人の父的存在が印象的である。この映像作品はとりわけ四季の風景の移り変わりに沿った物語の形式であり、そのことが主人公の成長に影響を与えているが、今回の企画「Seasons Series」は、各作品が季節の違いを感じさせつつも、シンプルかつ深遠なアイデア、その精神性や人間の情熱を軸とする。

Seasons Series is a quarterly book series in which a unified curated category of artists cumulate under one and the same provision, however with changing perceptions from each artist’s particulate frame of reference. Each edition distinguishes itself through the selection of alternating artists and its varied content, however, its size, page count and all-in-one technical designs are invariable. Drawing inspiration from South Korean film director Kim Ki-duk’s majestic filmmaking of Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter… and Spring, where the protagonist, portrayed by various actors throughout each season, is left by a parental figure at an isolated lake and its floating monastery. Although the film specifically focuses its narrative on the shifting nature of the seasons and further influencing the protagonist’s fosterage, Seasons Series center on its simple, yet profound ideas, its spirituality and human passions, regardless of season — where the works can be perceived differently, depending on the season. We hereby continue the book series with new works by Katrien De Blauwer (b. 1969, Belgian).

by Katrien De Blauwer

REGULAR PRICE ¥6,050  (tax incl.)

32 pages
215 x 275 mm
limited edition of 500 copies

published by LIBRARYMAN