81 HORIZONS by Rafael Rozendaal

ニューヨークを拠点に活動するオランダ出身のビジュアルアーティスト、ラファエル・ローゼンダール(Rafael Rozendaal)の作品集。デジタル・アートの分野において最も知られたアーティストの一人である作者が、エッセンの「フォルクヴァンク美術館(Museum Folkwang)」にて2023年4月から8月にかけて作品を展覧した「Rafaël Rozendaal: Color, Code, Communication」の開催に伴い刊行された一冊。

2021年からNFTマーケットプレイスである「OpenSea」にて公開された「81 Horizons」は、縮減を通じて抽象化を行う作者の信条のもとに制作された作品のシリーズであり、作者の言うところの「コーディングの美しさ」を表現したものである。


プロジェクトを通して、技術的、美的、そしてさらには社会的な問題が互いに浸透し合っている。各デジタル作品は独立しており、それぞれに所有者が存在するが、同時に「81 Horizons」シリーズはその全ての種たちの集合体として定義づけられている。


Rafaël Rozendaal is one of the world’s best-known players in digital art. 81 Horizons was first published as a series on the NFT platform Opensea in 2021 and is based on the artist’s credo of abstraction through reduction. He speaks of the “beauty of code.”

Through skillful programming, his sketches and instructions result in extremely small and condensed files that are permanently inscribed in the blockchain in the form of smart contracts.

All 81 works depicted together reach a total volume of no more than 10 KB, which is roughly the data size of an average standard email.

Throughout the project, technical, aesthetic, and even social issues continually interpenetrate. Each of the digital works stands for itself and has its own owner. At the same time, 81 Horizons defines itself as the sum of all variants.

by Rafael Rozendaal


176 pages
220 x 280 mm

published by WALTHER KÖNIG